Music Born Of Fear Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5

Opinions

Following its premiere there was widespread speculation—from an ‘official’ review by Alexei Tolstoy to Shostakovich’s son Maxim’s remarks many years later—about just what Shostakovich was saying. Reading how others interpreted the music may help you decide what you think this controversial symphony means.

Despite differing opinions, every one agrees that Shostakovich’s dramatic opening is powerfully symbolic.

alexey tolstoy

 “The symphony describes the formation of a personality ... In the first movement the composer-hero suffers a psychological crisis.”
—Alexei Tolstoy, Writer and Deputy to the USSR Supreme Soviet in Izvestiya, December 28, 1937

Shostakovich

“The beginning of the piece tells of man with all his sufferings.”
—in the article, “My Creative Answer,” presumably by Shostakovich, in the Literaturenaya gazeta, January 12, 1938

Maxim Shostakovich

“Stormy introduction. Intense. Not fast. ‘Listen to me! I am going to speak now!’”
—Maxim Shostakovich, the composer’s son

 


What's Your Reaction?

khan12
January 28, 2015

The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesn’t disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought you’d have something interesting to say. Social media news

alikhan_095
January 26, 2015

First You got a great blog .I will be interested in more similar topics. i see you got really very useful topics, i will be always checking your blog thanks. serta iseries mattress

khan12
January 25, 2015

NJ Wedding Limo Well most of you are not aware of what all things should be kept in mind while buying these supplements. Here in this discussion we are going to provide you the details of what all factors are necessary to know about the HGH supplements

SerieALivescore
January 23, 2015

Whenever basketball had been discovered, the actual hoop had been actually the basket, therefore the title basketball. As time continued, the fundamental backboard grew to become bigger, so that as rules transformed, the internet was additional. www.scorespro.com

ayunksyah
January 19, 2015

I wanted to leave a little comment to support you and wish you a good continuation. Wishing you the best of luck for all your blogging efforts. cara mencari nisn

jimmyjacks
January 18, 2015

I have never visited INeedEssayHelp despite I would truly plenty love to. I want to recite private plus pro recapitulates already selecting to wear a place for my paper wants. Do you recognize anything about the element of their book?

khan12
January 17, 2015

b2b lead generation We guarantee that you will never be devalued or penalized by Google when you use our digital marketing strategy to build your brand online. At Foxtail Marketing, you can make your business more relevant online without fear of becoming obsolete

khan12
January 15, 2015

This is my first visit to your site. Today I have got a new site. I am really happy to be here. I am stay tuned here for your next blog. Forex managed funds

khan12
January 14, 2015

This short article is perfect! If just one had been to purchase an argument on the authentication of this post, I believe that you would have to throw of your energy because this article is ideal in addition to every individual understands this kind of. cheap eliquids

khan12
January 14, 2015

I am really impressed by reading this article. Interesting post and I really like your take on the issue. I now have a clear idea on what this matter is all about. buy ecigs

Post Your Reaction