Charles Ives:
Holidays Symphony

Ranging from tender sentiment to savage chaos, the music of early 20th-century composer Charles Ives explores an essentially American riddle: how can we survive the relentless assault of our own success? Unwrap the layers of Ives's Holidays Symphony as Keeping Score takes us inside this musical portrait of New England life. From the intimacy of the winter hearth to the explosive concussion of the 4th of July, discover the insights Ives liberates in his music's confrontational crunch. Join Michael Tilson Thomas as he, the San Francisco Symphony, and Charles Ives belt it out over truth, beauty, and the American Way.


Upcoming Broadcasts

Own Keeping Score

Watch it again! Keeping Score is available on DVD and Blu-ray and via download.
The music from Keeping Score is also available.

Buy Now

Thursday, October 22, 2009 at 10pm
Post Your Reaction


The Rite of Spring

Dmitri Shostakovich:
Symphony No. 5

Aaron Copland
and the American Sound

Charles Ives:
Holidays Symphony

Gustav Mahler:
Origins and Legacy